Studying at the Institute of Bioeconomy

Hi everyone! My name is Milla Pohjola and I am doing summer studies for RDI2CluB. I thought I would tell you something about my studies at the Institute of Bioeconomy, as it could be interesting to find out what it is like here in Central Finland from the student’s point of view :slight_smile: :seedling: :books:

I am 22 years old student from Central Finland and this autumn I am going to be a third-year student in JAMK University of Applied Sciences. I am studying bachelor’s degree programme in agricultural and rural industries in Institute of Bioeconomy in Tarvaala. Our curriculum involves studies about plant production, domestic animal production, forestry and bioeconomy.

I have completed two practical trainings among my studies. First one was at a dairy farm, where I learned the basics of working with cows. It lasted about three weeks. The second practical training was in the summer of 2019, and it was centered around arable farming. This was a longer training, 380 hours altogether. I learned a lot about all the machines that are used to grow the different crops and got to drive tractors and use the machines. Part of my training I also spent milking cows and working on a cowshed. These trainings have been great in bringing the information we learn about agriculture in class, to real life. We have had to do reports of both practical trainings, and it has been a really good way of learning and reflecting.

Studying at JAMK and Bioeconomy Institute is great. I like our campus in Tarvaala around fields and forests, and that it is smaller and less crowded than other JAMK campuses, but we are still part of the big institution. JAMK offers a lot of variety in courses and ways of studying.